Vermont ASAP Alcohol Server Awareness Program
Vermont Alcohol Seller-Server Training Requirements
Responsible alcohol seller-server training ensures that sellers and servers of alcohol understand the liquor laws in their states and serve alcoholic beverages responsibly.
This responsible vendor training program can significantly reduce the risk and liability associated with alcohol service - whether or not it is required by your state. It also provides a “reasonable efforts” defense against service violations and civil claims and may reduce insurance premium costs.
Whether you’re a server, bartender, store clerk, manager, or business owner, this online alcohol server training is the easiest, most efficient way to learn about the responsibilities and best practices related to selling and serving alcohol. Your online Vermont alcohol server certification gives you the training you need without the wasted time spent in a classroom! Earn you Vermont alcohol license from the convenience of your home!
Vermont Alcohol Regulatory Agency
The Vermont Department of Liquor Control is responsible for the control over the importation, distribution, sale, and consumption of alcoholic beverages, which applies to all retailers, suppliers, and wholesalers who are licensed to manufacture, sell, serve, transport, or store liquor in the State of Vermont.
Source: Vermont Department of Liquor Control
Mandatory State Regulations for Alcohol Servers in Vermont
§ 239. Licensee education
(c) Each licensee shall ensure that every employee who is involved in the sale or serving of alcohol beverages completes a training program approved by the department of liquor control before the employee begins serving or selling alcoholic beverages and at least once every 24 months thereafter. Each licensee shall maintain written documentation, signed by each employee trained, of each training program conducted. A licensee may comply with this requirement by conducting its own training program on its premises, using information and materials furnished by the department of liquor control. A licensee who fails to comply with the requirements of this subsection shall be subject to a suspension of no less than one day of the license issued under this title.
Source: Vermont Statutes – Title 7: Alcoholic Beverages, Chapter 9: Licensing, 7 V.S.A. subsection 239. License education
Vermont Dram Shop Laws: Yes
Servers of alcohol may be held civilly responsible for improperly serving alcohol. “Dram Shop Law” allows certain people who are injured to get money damages from the person who served the alcohol.
Vermont Alcohol Seller-Server Training Regulations
Vermont Alcohol Seller-Server Training Contact Info
Vermont Department of Liquor Control
13 Green Mountain Drive
Montpelier, VT 05620-4501
Phone: (802) 828-2339
Vermont ASAP Alcohol Seller-Server Training Course
This course is about 3 hours in length and provides the learner (i.e., bartender, server, waiter, or a waitress) with the necessary knowledge about the particular state laws regarding alcohol service and proven techniques needed to be a responsible seller of alcohol and for providing a safe environment for customers. Specifically, you will learn:
- how to protect yourself and your establishment from liability;
- how alcohol affects your customers;
- how to recognize the effects of alcohol on your customers;
- how to prevent customers from becoming intoxicated;
- how to intervene when you need to refuse a sale to someone;
- how to prevent and deal with disturbances;
- how to accurately check IDs and recognize minors;
- how to prevent second-party sales; and
- how to refuse a sale.
Credit Hours: 3 hrs
- Lesson 1: Introduction
- Lesson 2: How Alcohol Affects the Body
- Lesson 3: Recognizing Intoxicated Customers
- Lesson 4: Preventing Disturbances
- Lesson 5: Minors and Liability
- Lesson 6: Second-Party Sales
- Lesson 7: How to Refuse a Sale
- Lesson 8: State Laws
End of Course - Certificate
At the conclusion of the course, the learner will be tested on their knowledge of the learning objectives and content. Upon successfully passing the exam with a minimum of 70%, the learner will be issued a course certificate document (or permit).
- Duration: 3 Hours
- 100% online - no classroom attendance!
- Take course anywhere and anytime!
- Download certificate upon completion!
- 24×7 Support: (877) 881-2235 - Online
Vermont ASAP Alcohol Seller-Server Awareness Training On-Premise
Get up to a 40% group discount! Enroll and train all your food safety employees with a group enrollment. Track progress, generate reports, and manage learners using a cloud-based platform. More Info
We offer online Alcohol Safety Training in Vermont for: Burlington, South Burlington, Rutland, Essex Junction, Barre, Bennington, Montpelier, Winooski, Brattleboro, St. Albans, Middlebury, St. Johnsbury, Newport, Springfield, Bellows Falls, West Brattleboro, and many more!